I hope everyone had a great weekend! I went to South Carolina to visit my son and his family.  My other son and his family were there too! We don't get together very often, so I cherish the times when we do.
We are settling in and getting a routine going. 
We began reading groups today, so look for small reading books every day. Please make time to read with your child every day. I thought this chart was interesting. It makes you stop and think!
I have decided to wait for homework packets.  This week they should study their spelling words and read the reading group book. Practice writing good sentences with the spelling words. When you read the book, ask your child questions about the story. We are working on sequencing in reading groups this week.  Ask them to retell the story in order.

Don't forget the book fair this week!!

Skills for the week:
READING:  characters, and sequence of a story
LANGUAGE:  Kinds of sentences
PHONICS:  long i sound
MATH:  comparing numbers to 1000
SOCIAL STUDIES: communities


Secret word:  read  (have you child tell me tomorrow for a piece of candy)



Leave a Reply.